Showing posts with label Google. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Google. Show all posts

Saturday, February 13, 2016

Google Is Moving on From Picasa, To Focus On Google Photos

It’s time to say good-bye to one of the most popular photo editors of all times. Google has announced in an official blog post that Picasa would no longer work come this March. Following which, users would no longer be able to edit Picasa web albums post May. Google plans to shift its focus to Google Photos by shutting down the application.
“After Much Thought And Consideration, We’ve Decided To Retire Picasa Over The Coming Months In Order To Focus Entirely On A Single Photo Service In Google Photos.”
Users with a Picasa account can access their pictures using the Google Photos app. People who are not using this app can still access their albums and delete or edit them. The company will withdraw support for the Picasa desktop app on 15th March, 2016. For those who have the application on their systems already -it will continue to run just as it does right now, but there will be no further updates or developments.
Google ended the blog-post by way of an apology, “We apologize for any inconvenience this transition causes, but we want to assure you that we are doing this with the aim of providing the best photos experience possible.” Time to bid adieu indeed.
You Will see a Notification on Picasa Web Albums i.e., Learn More From there You can See Official announcement 
Google to focus on a single photo service, that being Google Photos. The aim is to combine the desktop and mobile experiences into a single product, but that doesn't mean everything you've done on Picasa will be lost forever. 
Should you have photos or videos saved in a Picasa web album and do not wish to move to Google Photos, Google will soon offer a way for you to access all of this content, even after Picasa is retired. (You just won't be able to upload new stuff.)
As for developers and third-party clients, some functions of the Picasa API will be retired. It's worth reminding that nothing will change today, and if you wish to switch to Google Photos, you'll be able to upload new content and organize your stored media just as you would through Picasa. If you do not wish to use Google Photos, you'll have to hold out until Google unveils what new tool will be available to access your content once Picasa is shut down.

Friday, February 05, 2016

Google will block websites serving fake download buttons

Google Safe Browsing Now Blocks Deceptive Ads With Fake Download Buttons


Google Safe Browsing Warning

If you've ever clicked on a fake download button masquerading as the real thing, this is for you. Google expanded the scope of its Safe Browsing feature to cover deceptive download buttons as well, aiming to make the Web a safer place.
  • Finding the right download button on a website is the least fun version of hide and seek ever invented. Now, Google’s taking action to warn users when sites engage in this kind of deceptive behavior.
  • As Google explains on its Online Security Blog, sites with any kind of ads that deceptively try to mimic actual site functionality will now be counted as “social engineering.” This includes fake download buttons, warnings that software you don’t have is “out of date”, and fake notifications to update things like Flash player. When a site uses these tricks, Google will display a big red warning before a user visits the site. Hopefully this will discourage shadier sites from using underhanded tactics to trick users into clicking on ads, or at least prevent users from getting duped.
  •  Google is expanding its Safe Browsing protection tool to block deceptive download buttons online.
  • The Web is vast and full of useful information, but it's also full of traps and tricky websites that con unsuspecting users. Social engineering refers to the various ways in which some websites trick people into clicking on bad links or downloading things they don't intend to download.
  • Google pledged to fend off social engineering scams with Safe Browsing, and it's now expanding the feature to combat fake download buttons as well.


"You may have encountered social engineering in a deceptive download button, or an image ad that falsely claims your system is out of date," Google explains. "Today, we're expanding Safe Browsing protection to protect you from such deceptive embedded content, like social engineering ads."
Safe Browsing is available for Google's Chrome browser and Android, displaying a warning screen to notify users when they're about to visit a harmful site. Google also shared the information security through a "safe browsing" application that works with Mozilla's Firefox and Apple's Safari, aiming to eliminate harmful browser software and protect as many Web users as possible.
In addition to protecting users from malicious websites that attempt to con them into giving up their credentials or install malware disguised as something else, Google's Safe Browsing now goes after embedded content as well.

Such embedded content scams target ads, and they're a bit tougher to combat because they're generally integrated right into the Web page. They replace legitimate content and look like they're the real deal, part of the page itself, but that's all just for show.
Simply put, embedded content can take the form of ads and attempt to con users into installing updates or applications that don't really exist.
One of the most common types of embedded content presents itself as a download button, oftentimes placed right beneath, or beside the real download button or link. When these fake download buttons also match the theme of the website in question, they're even harder to distinguish and they manage to trick more users.


  • To reduce such risks, Google's Safe Browsing will now flag deceptive content and display obvious warnings regarding the malicious activities. At the same time, Google will also notify Web page owners of the embedded content found on their pages. If visitors regularly encounter such warnings on a website, Google will flag the whole website and owners will have to ensure everything is safe. 






Happy surfing folks. 

Thank You For Your Support !!! 

Thursday, January 21, 2016

Google's new algorithm will make Chrome run much faster And Better


             Google's new algorithm will make Chrome run much faster


Is Your CHROME Consuming More Data Than the All Applications , Here Is the good News For All Who are Always Worry About their PC Performance .
Recently Google Engine Announces This News
Here Is the Snippet Read Out Guys 


    




Google Chrome Actually Consumes More RAM Data So , Google Engine Announced About New Thought .

In Most Recent Days This Is the Major Update About Google Chrome
 The First Update Is Google Chrome 43.x
Chrome will soon load pages faster and consume less data Google’s Chrome browser will soon load pages more quickly and use less data to do so.

 thanks to the introduction of the company’s Brotli compression algorithm. Brotli was introduced last September; Google claimed that it could reduce file sizes by up to 26 percent more than its three-year old predecessor Zopfli. It also said that Brotli could also help reduce battery use on mobile devices. According to Google, Brotli is an entirely “new data format” that better at packing in more data while decompressing at roughly the same speed as others. If you’re keen to see Brotli in action, it’s currently available…This story continues at The Next Web

   
 
Google Chrome is about to get a serious speed boost. 
However, there is a caveat. The data-crunching increases that Brotli yields currently applies exclusively to HTTPS connections. In other words, only the sites with which you can establish a secure connection to will benefit. On Chrome, you can easily tell if you're using an HTTPS-enabled site by checking for the green lock symbol in the URL bar.
Brotli will be introduced to Chrome soon, but as Google announced in September, it has big aspirations for its latest data compression algorithm. It wants Brotli to be a data format that's adopted by the world's other leading browsers, like Firefox and Safari. If Brotli works as well as Google says it does, Mozilla and Apple have little reason to refuse implementing it. But, of course, there are politics in tech and it could never happen. Needless to say, we'll be watching this space very closely.
If you're anxious to give it a try right now, download Google's developer-focused browser variant, Chrome Canary. But, if you can hang tight, the algorithm is likely to roll out in the coming weeks.